Skip to content

Antique Display… and the “sweet” spot…

February 14, 2012

Welcome to Walla Walla and to Shady Lawn Antiques.  During the month of January, I cleaned and restored antiques.  We spent the better part of a week arranging antique displays before our February 4th reopening.

The following picture shows a display that featured three items that were new to the store.

a "sweet" antiques display...

First Jill and I moved furniture around at least five times until we came up with an arrangement that seemed to work.  I then placed a Victorian Eastlake Style clock (circa 1880) and an early 1900’s wooden Walla Walla Produce Company box on top of the oak Printers Cabinet.  The display looked like it needed a little something extra so I put a dry wheat arrangement inside the box.

The WW Produce box sold at the end of the very first day we were open.  I then put a restored wooden Borax box in its’ place and put the wheat arrangement in it too.  I had displayed the Borax box in several different places for probably two months.  But when I placed it on top of the Printers Cabinet it sold the same day.

The top left hand corner of the Printers Cabinet seems to be a “sweet” spot for selling wooden boxes… sadly I don’t have another similar wooden box to display there.

I have noticed that there have been antique “sweet” selling spots in the past.  But since selling antiques is pretty much a one-of-a-kind business it is not always as obvious as it was to me this time.

When I set up the display, the arrangement seemed pleasant.  However, I had no idea that two wooden boxes would sell from the exact same spot two days in a row… “sweet”!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jim and Claudia permalink
    February 21, 2012 4:37 pm

    We had fun looking at your antiques, especially this printers cabinet. It’s so cool! Thanks for a great day, Dave and Jill.

Leave a comment