Skip to content

Tapas for the Eye… or small visual “bites” at Shady Lawn Antiques in Walla Walla…

March 15, 2012

This is the second Shady Lawn Antiques take on restaurant appetizers.  I call these visual appetizers:  “Tapas for the Eye.”  (The term Tapas is Spanish in origin and refers to small appetizers or snacks that are not a whole meal.)  My “Tapas for the Eye” are pictures of a small portion or detail of a larger antique.  My first Tapas post featured oak items.

“Hello, I’m Dave, and I would like to let you know that the daily Special of ‘Tapas for the Eye’ features ‘Small Bites’ of random antiques found at Shady Lawn Antiques…”

1930's World Globe...

Walla Walla seems to have been pointed at so many times that it has disappeared from this 1930’s World Globe… I didn’t even notice this until I took the close-up picture.

Red glass lantern globe...

A globe theme?… no, it is purely accidental that two different types of globes are pictured.

Toy steam roller wheel...

The Toy Manufacturer had a sense of pride when this steam roller wheel was crafted… a less detailed wheel would have functioned just as well but it certainly wouldn’t have been as attractive.

a wicker?...

This is the mystery picture…

I know what it is but if you can’t figure it out please come into Shady Lawn and I will show you… or respond in the comments and I will let you know…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Kathy McConnell permalink
    March 17, 2012 8:51 pm

    Dave, love your blog. You are so adept at this, that I am wondering if you have been blogging in your head for years and finally just had to let it out.

    • March 18, 2012 9:00 pm

      Kathy,
      Thanks for the nice comments. When I left the structured environment of college teaching and coaching I felt a sense of liberation to just be who I am… The creative side of my personality has been stimulated both through the writing and the furniture that I build – I think that your assessment is correct.
      Dave

  2. Hicks permalink
    March 20, 2012 1:07 pm

    OK I give! What kind of fishing basket or creel is the last photo from?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

